Fitness: My story…

I am by no means an expert on the subject of ‘fitness’ but I have a huge interest in it and I like to keep myself fairly fit and healthy. After leaving school nearly 10 years ago I became more interested in nights out and takeaways than looking after my body and this continued until I was about 22 years old. I was fairly lucky that I never gained a huge amount of weight so externally I appeared healthy but I dread to think of the strain I placed on my body internally over those years!

I have always enjoyed sports. I’m very competitive and I think that this has played a huge part in my love for sport. I played on many teams during my school years – football, netball, hockey – and also enjoyed individual sports such as athletics. I have recently (almost a year ago) begun running and I also joined a gym as my 2017 resolution. It’s now April and I’m still keeping it up! 

The gym allows me to focus on exercises I enjoy and I’m really enjoying seeing the results of my hard work. I’m a big believer in that you don’t need a gym membership to keep fit – YouTube is your best friend for home workouts – but it definitely helps me to motivate myself. I began running outside last summer and loved it! I’m lucky enough to live near the seaside and some lovely countryside so running here is beautiful. I still regularly run outside even though I have a gym membership. I may do another post on my ‘training’ routine and little tips I’ve picked up on my fitness journey soon.

Do you prefer an outside workout to a indoor gym? Let me know! 


A little snap from my morning run last weekend-

Please like, comment and follow!

Hannah x

One thought on “Fitness: My story…

  1. Hello,
    Pleasure to meet you and thank you for taking time to visit my blog page and having a follow, I appreciate the support and look forward to reading more about your fitness goals, exercises and tips/advice you have to share with all of us.
    I guess it depends, I typically don’t love cardio unless it is HIIT or sprinting drills, and sometimes interval training as well. I ran track so if I do run, I would love to run on a track again and get my feet wet, I am not against running outside, but never was one to do it until I forced myself to with my roommates whom at the time enjoyed it. I might start running outside this year, who knows. For now I live inside the gym, I don’t particularly love running on the treadmill though.

    Shay-lon

    Like

Leave a Reply

